iredale pedersen hook

Martyn Hook Judges the Architectural Review Emerging Architecture Award


No Comments

Share this post

Martyn Hook judges the Architectural Review Emerging Architecture Award at the World Architecture Festival in Berlin.

from the AR website:

Australian architect and Dean of the School of Architecture & Design at RMIT University will join the judging panel for this year’s AR Emerging Architecture awards

Professor Martyn Hook is Dean of the School of Architecture & Design at RMIT University in Melbourne, Australia and director of multi-award winning iredale pedersen hook architects, together with Adrian Iredale and Finn Pedersen. The practice has previously been recognised by the AR Emerging Architecture awards, receiving Honourable Mentions for their Walmajarri Offices and Staff House in 2006 and the Perth Zoo Orang-utan Enclosure in 2008, and was awarded in the WAF Health Category with the Walumba Elders Centre in 2015.

As an architect and critic, Hook has lectured and taught internationally from the Bartlett at the University of London to KU Leuven’s Sint Lucas in Ghent to AUT Auckland. Hook was also the Founding Director of the Architecture & Design Postgraduate Program and the Practice Research Symposium (PRS_EU) for the RMIT University, gathering together a collection of European based practitioners to engage in research through design practice.

The AR Emerging Architecture awards grant early recognition to young designers and celebrate the architectural stars of tomorrow, promoting global design innovation and fresh approaches to architecture by emerging architects. This year, the AREA’s judging process and award ceremony will be held at the World Architecture Festival, which will run 15-17 November in Berlin. Finalists will have the opportunity to present their projects in person and join the AR editorial team along with judges and sponsors for an exclusive celebratory dinner. Finalists will also be invited to the WAF gala dinner, attended by 800 senior architects from around the world, where the AREA winner will be revealed and awarded a £10,000 prize. Both winning and commended projects will be published in a special edition of The Architectural Review in the autumn. Previous winners of the awards have included Sou Fujimoto, Klein Dytham, Anna Heringer, Bjarke Ingels, Thomas Heatherwick, Sean Godsell, Li Xiadong and Frida Escobedo.

0 Responses to this post

Add your comment